Routine Is The Enemy Of Creativity

One of the best aspects about being self employed is that there is no such thing as a normal day. I am very anti-routine. It doesn’t suit my personality well and you can’t stick creativity into a 9-5.

I am lousy in the mornings, and my pace really picks up after about 4pm. By 9pm I am invincible and I can go on until 2 in the morning if the project has inspired me enough. Even so I tend to have creative spurts which can last up to 6 months and then I won’t want to do anything more in that area for months. It’s the mental break rather than the physical one that’s required.

And because I am juggling several career options on a regular basis, and I have a lot of other interests which demand my time, this suits me well. I can work extremely hard at something for a while, bank up my options and then break from it and move on, coming back refreshed as and when the mood takes me.

At the moment I have one large rail full of completed dress designs. And I’ve largely been on a design break for the last few months. Partly this is because I need to clear the rail and partly it’s because my work as a writer has taken over as I complete a book and work on a film script inspired by the same subject. That research and writing is now tailing off and I can just about feel the fashion design bug slowly creeping back into play over this last week.

This doesn’t mean I completely ignore the fashion side. Admin, website and social media updates, photoshoots and sales still continue. But the actual creation side – well sometimes it just needs a rest. You cannot produce inspiration out of nowhere.

And as I said, I don’t mind this. It means I am constantly fluctuating between several interesting creative areas in my life and that makes life interesting. I wouldn’t have it any other way these days and the thought of a 9-5 just horrifies me. I’ve been back and tried it and sometimes I make myself do it just to remind myself how lucky I am that I no longer need that day job to survive. But let’s not forget it’s taken me a long time to get here. This is not an overnight success.

 

Leave a Reply

