Location Location Location

According to my family tree I don’t come from a family of notable travellers (with the exception of one). But in the last 10 years I have moved on average once a year. And I regularly get the travel bug whether it’s for moving or just getting out and exploring. If I had the funds, I’d be everywhere. But I don’t. So I’m not.

Don’t get me wrong. I have seen some of the world. I’ve been to the USA several times, Italy more times than I can remember. Malta. Spain. Germany. And various places in the UK. Have car will travel is my motto.

To sate my appetite, traveling for photoshoots helps. And even though I have only been working in Manchester for 21 months I am already starting to feel the urge to relocate. That of course would be a daft thing to do. But I am considering a second location to squash my travel urges and broaden my business appeal. My business has gone up a notch. I think it’s time to look further afield.

I come from London. And whilst I have never had a desire to return there, suddenly it’s become the focus of my attention as a second base for my business. This in itself isn’t difficult since my family still live there so for work it is not a logistical problem.

I was always firm about business when it came to London. I was told that if I wanted to be a successful designer I had to be in London or I would fail. This is not true and noone should ever believe this ridiculous piece of advice. But you should never limit yourself to the place you live, otherwise you are doomed to failure. On family visits home I try to build at least one shoot into my itinerary. It’s a long way to go from Manchester and I am not known for disconnecting myself easily from work. Every visit is a potential opportunity.

I have completed plenty of shoots down south and it’s not beyond me to understand that it is a good place to choose although it can be remarkably inaccessible if you’re bringing a substantial wardrobe. That being said, why I should be in demand in a city already crammed with creatives in need of work is anybody’s guess.

My previous attempts to arrange shoots when I’ve been back home have been hit and miss, often owing to weather, locations and flaky collaborators but I’m planning a trip at the end of October and actively seeking shoot days via Purpleport’s casting facility and on social media. Inquiries are coming in and I have time to get organised so I am feeling hopeful this time.

Updates as and when. If you want to book me drop me a line via the usual methods.

For all things Falcieri Designs check out my website at www.falcieridesigns.co.uk

Leave a Reply

