Realise Your Value

Today I have been in business 4 years, 2 months and 7 days. I look back and I wonder why it’s taken me so long to reach this point. I knew I wanted to do this when I was 12. And all my life it was there. In everything else I have done as a costume designer, as a writer, as a published author, as a researcher the business was always there waiting. But worrying about wasted years is pointless and you need to always look forward and be thankful for what you have.

I’m not a one for singing my own praises but a conversation I had amongst friends over a pint in my adopted home city of Manchester not so long ago reminded me that in actual fact I do have a place in the world. And that what I do actually counts for something.

My business is a place where I am not only creative on my own terms but it’s a place where I put my moral values and my professional and industry knowledge and experiences into practice. I have an opinion and it’s important to be heard if you have something to say.

And sometimes, just sometimes I see myself standing for something important in my industry. I will never be up there with the likes of Chanel or McQueen. But really, do I want to be? What I do has substance. It means something.

At this end of what I do I am in control, I have all the creative freedom I could possibly want and, bar a few extra zeros on the end of my bank balance, I am essentially where I want to be. I consider myself very lucky that not only does my business employ me full time, but I am one of the lucky ones who can say they wake up every day loving what they do.

In recent weeks I’ve started to realise that maybe I’m not such an amateur, that I can tell people what I do and I don’t feel like I am playing at it anymore. That I am established and people do take me seriously. I suppose that’s because I never really feel like I’ve grown up. I guess that’s a state of mind rather than who I am. I may be a bit quirky, non conformist, perhaps even a rebel in my own way and I think it is my business which has allowed me the freedom to still be that person.

My business is my own little empire and it will continue to grow in its own way and find its place amongst the people who matter. And I am so thankful for the opportunities it has given me.

For all things Falcieri Designs check out my website at www.falcieridesigns.co.uk

Leave a Reply

