Noun: fashion designer – someone who designs clothing

I describe myself as a designer and photoshoot stylist. But having met other small start up fashion designers, I’m beginning to think this isn’t me.

Looking at what a ‘fashion designer’ does, it is clear I cut out all the middle men and follow the ahole process through, which fashion designers don’t. I am a one stop shop. I do it all. And I do it because I love what I do – the whole process from conception to sale.

Fashion designers work in different ways. Some sketch their ideas on paper, while others drape fabric on a dress form. When a designer is completely satisfied with the fit…he or she will consult a professional pattern maker who then makes the finished, working version of the pattern out of card or via a computerized system…Finally, a sample garment is made up and tested on a model to make sure it is an operational outfit. Source: Wikipedia

wpid-img_20150727_101016.jpg

Conforming isn’t my thing. I am most definitely a square peg in a round hole. So when companies and university expected me to make choices about my role in the industry, I didn’t tow the line. And that is why I set up my own business.

I didn’t want to be a cog in a much larger set of cogs. I don’t design. I don’t make. I do both. I can’t imagine anything less rewarding than designing something on a piece of paper, sending it away to China and waiting for the final product to come back. Where’s the fun in that?

Working like that defeats one of my main objectives – to be British Made. British designed is not the same. And certainly isn’t an excuse for putting a British label on a product.

Definition of a Designer-maker: Those who both design and make their own products, who bring together their creative ideas and making skills in individual production of their designs. The term also represents designers involved in the small-scale batch or serial production of goods. Source: Makers Yard

So what am I? A designer-maker? And how does that translate to consumers. I’ve lost count of the number of times I have been hired for my design work and yet clients have been surprised that I make those designs as well.

I am a relatively niche market in the UK. And I like that. In some ways this limits my ability to expand. But it also means my attention to detail and my consideration of the individual wearer is paramount. It’s not about profits, it’s about people and design.

For all things Falcieri Designs check out my website at www.falcieridesigns.co.uk

Leave a Reply

