Scraps And Offcuts

Keeping my waste fabric to a minimum is one of my priorities when I am making and designing. Already restricted by meterage (I only buy UK factory offcuts) my pattern cutting ethos is generally to work in squares and rectangles making the additional pockets, waist and shoulder ties from the offcuts.

For three years I have been bagging up any scraps I deemed too large for the bin, loathe to send them off to landfill. Last month I finally found a home for them with the lovely people at Stitched Up in Chorlton.

Donating scraps to crafting groups for reuse and teaching completes an important cycle for me in the life of the materials I use and means I can add another aspect to my supply line. If you’re worried about where your offcuts might end up cooperatives and crafting centres are a fantastic way to give back, help others and put your mind at rest.

Give it a go.

For all things Falcieri Designs check out my website at www.falcieridesigns.co.uk

 

Leave a Reply

