What Dress Size Am I?

It seems like a simple question. But it isn’t easily answered.

I’ve been trying to find a standardised accurate size scale I can add to my online shop to give customers an idea of what will fit them. But sizes between shops range enormously.

When a model gives me their dress size for a shoot, I always ask for actual measurements because rarely do they fit their perceived dress size. It’s not their fault, it’s the industry.

I’ve found a website called What Size Am I? which is great for working out what will fit you where but it doesn’t help me as a designer. So I’ve taken to adding actual measurements against listings. Many of my garments fit a range of sizes anyway so this limits confusion but it does require more effort on the part of the customer which is in part where the problem lies.

991e06306c599fadad1706ddc53dc5db

Articles like this might be a few years old now but dress sizing in shops is still a major problem because there is no industry standard and depending on the attitude of the shop you may get a whole range of fits.

The reason is vanity sizing. It’s no longer an industry secret. We all know it goes on. It’s why you’ve been in a size 12 for the last 20 years and until the industry sets a standard everyone has to abide by, it’s never going to change.

As a designer I always do my own measurements for client commissions. It’s remarkable how many people do not know their waistline or bra size. And if you’re going to provide a tailor made service you always start with a measuring tape.

To me, every body is different. Noone is a standard fit. But for shoppers who demand everything now, getting things tailored to fit still seems to be too much effort. It’s a shame. You just don’t know what you’re missing.

For all things Falcieri Designs check out my website at www.falcieridesigns.co.uk

Leave a Reply

