Getting Into The Mindset Of Shoppers And Why I Am My Harshest Critic.

First and foremost I am a designer because I am creative. Not because I want to make a quick buck. Maybe I am destined to never quite earn enough money. 

Equally I am not much of a shopper. My impulse shopping days are over and in many ways this makes me my own worst critic. 

I have cut right down on my high street purchases. There’s no point in selling an ethos if you’re not prepared to buy into it yourself and because I am a business owner I have to be careful with my income. There is no room for frivolities.

This means I can’t afford to invest in high end ethical products. Equally I don’t want to hand my cash over to cheap high street brands who import on a gigantic scale from third world sweat shops.

What this means is that if I want something I can make, I make it. I also repair and renew rather than throw away anything that has been pre bought – from darning socks and holes in leggings, to renewing broken clasps and zips. It’s not difficult and it somehow feels nicer than buying something new and throwing the old thing away. I love well worn favourites that I like the feel of. Sheer knitwear. That pair of leggings that actually stretches with me. Shoes that never seem to wear thin. If it’s not broken, why change it?

I love to rummage in vintage and second hand shops. I’m looking for a garment I can wear again and again for years on end and isn’t the same as everything on the high street or goes so out of fashion in a few weeks that it becomes individual. Above all it has to speak to me.

High street fashion is remarkably dull. I can’t tell where one season ends and another begins (if they actually do). Leggings, ripped skinny jeans, T shirts with logos on that the wearers are too young to even realise the significance of. The same old ditsy prints of birds and cats on skater dresses. These are tired regurgitated staples that I’m just sick of seeing.

I could churn out leggings, crop tops and long skirts til they came out of my ears but what would be the point? I can’t compete with the high street on price because I am not employing dozens of poorly paid machinists. And why would I want to create garments which look the same as everything else?

The point is that I am selling a unique identity. I am selling you individuality, not wear it once and bin it. I want to see my dresses still being worn and sold on in 10 years. Beloved, revamped, dressed up and dressed down.

And that is the point of what I do. Love what you wear with such passion that you never want to let it go.

Leave a Reply

