When You Need Space To Breathe

Running a small business in the UK is hard. When it’s creative, you’ve just increased your chances of financial hardship. After 2 years of not needing a day job, I’ve finally had to bite the bullet and take on some other work to give me breathing space as I rebrand and get my online shop established. Check out my latest blogs for why things have taken a backward step.

I was hoping for a few days a week, enough to take the pressure off me. But I’ve been landed with a 9-5, 5 days a week position and I’m not sure how things are going to work out.
image

I still have evenings and weekends free, but I’m not convinced I have the stamina for that. I’m going to see if I can stick it to the end of the tax year. It’s only a temp contract so there’s no reason it will last forever. But the money is good and I might be able to repair some of the damage done to my backup funds earning me additional breathing space.

image

I am hoping that having limited precious hours in which to work will also increase my productivity. I am a bit of a procrastinator at heart largely because of the lack of deadlines in my life. But we’ll see how juggling these workloads pans out.

Going back to work feels like a failure but it could be the one thing that keeps me in business. The surplus income can go back into stock purchased, back up funds and petrol to travel to shoots and I may find a new set of customers at the new job.

image

I don’t claim to be doing this because I want to, but I’m trying to avoid my natural creative stubbornness and embrace it as an opportunity and a chance to enhance rather than destroy my label.

Leave a Reply

