How Am I Doing? 7 – 9 Months

On 1st July I began my fourth year of business. Every year I am still here it’s a concept that blows my mind. In this age of such huge uncertainly and with the chances of success stacked against me, I am somehow still in business and still enjoying it. HOWEVER….

The last few months have been horrible. The summer holidays, just like the post Christmas fall out, kill business. Everyone is focused on holidays away. The kids are off. Spare funds are eaten up. Everyone is having to borrow for that much needed two weeks in the sun.

Thankfully, I’ve been a bit distracted by moving house for the fourth (and last) time this year. But the lack of paid business has made me really sit down and think about my survival long term. Add to this that moving house meant almost no internet for a month and you have a real problem on your hands at a time when I really needed to sort out my marketing and Etsy shop.

There is clearly very little money in photoshoots these days. That part of my business has fallen by the wayside. There are far too many people out there doing it for free and undercutting everyone else. Models turn up with their own wardrobe. They don’t need creatives to fill the spaces.

And even though you get what you pay for, many are still happy with poorer results for free than paid for images that REALLY stand out. I guess it depends why you are shooting in the first place. For many it is not an income but a passion and a pasttime.

I still do paid shoots and probably always will but it is not an income I can rely on anymore. Instead I am focusing a large chunk of my shoot work on what I design. Producing look books, sales images and creative shoots to boost sales. The aim is that when business is better and I have found my customer base, I can afford to pay the teams I shoot with. Whilst the images are great and perfect for portfolio building (and I love helping others boost their businesses with images) I would like to be able to pay people. We’re all trying to survive, to live the dream. It’s hard out there. And I would like to contribute financially to the survival of other people’s creative dreams. But for now, I am there with them, slowly working towards that goal.

I’ve been working hard to increase my stock and focusing on plus size and tall garments too. Now that I have moved I have started local networking in the towns and villages around where I live, which is vastly different to my business location in Manchester and I am hoping that this will help me find the niche market who will buy into my brand.

In the meantime, shoots go on regardless. And I hope you like the results included here. I’m going to be blogging about my first ‘plus size’ shoot shortly, but for now you can take a peek at what we’ve been up to.

On another positive note, editorial is up again – 3 more this quarter and another 2 on the way. There’s an up to date list here.

So, on to the shoots. Fuller sets are up on my Facebook and you can keep up with the action on my Instagram over here.

wpid-wp-1442601229191.jpeg

Models: Clara Atkinson and Rosanna Marie Owen
MUA: Lily Javanda
Clothes Designer: Loula’s Boutique at fashionpony.co.uk
Stylist: Falcieri Designs
Photographer: James Scrivener Photography


wpid-wp-1442598899522.jpeg

Conceived and photographed: James Hall (JustAddPictures)
Models: Katy Heffernan-Smith, Kryssy Martin, Michael Tomlinson and Simon Lyster at Ugly Models
Styling: James Hall and Falcieri Designs
Hair: Hannah Belfield
Make Up: Fiona Brunt
Post-production and retouching: Paola Sammartino
image

Photography: PeterMark Photography
Model: Shireen Ashton (moncheriebebe)
MUA: Meghan Baxter
Designer and Stylist: Falcieri Designs

wpid-wp-1442601507772.jpeg

Photography: Daniel Driver
Model/MUA/Hairstylist: Charlene Meredith
Designer and Stylist: Falcieri Designs

image

Photography: PeterMark Photography
Model: Emily Haynes
MUA/Hairstylist: Meghan Baxter
Designer and Stylist: Falcieri Designs
image

Photography: PeterMark Photography
Model: Shireen Ashton (moncheriebebe)
Hair Stylist: Tracey Anna
MUA: Meghan Baxter
Designer and Stylist: Falcieri Designs

Falcieri-150920-4122Photography: PeterMark Photography
Model/Hair/MUA: Luna Riparia
Designer and Stylist: Falcieri Designs

To find these outfits and more drop into my Etsy shop here: https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/falcieridesigns

2 responses to “How Am I Doing? 7 – 9 Months

Leave a Reply

