How Am I Doing? 1- 3 Months 2015

Uh oh. Can you believe it. I’ve been in Manchester for more than 2 months now. What on earth happened there?

I have really enjoyed moving and being at the centre of a creative area for the first time since I started my business in 2012.

Most of my regular shoot clientele is in the surrounding area here, and there seems to be a photographer and model at every turn, not to mention so many fantastic locations right on my doorstep.

So I thought I would run a ‘How Am I Doing’ again in 2015. I liked the format last year in that it enabled me to get a quick overview of the general content of my shoots season by season. I am interested to see how my move increases the volume and quality of my collaborations. That, after all, was the point on my move – to increase my income, the quality of my work and make new contacts.

Whilst shoots have not been restricted by moving, the first few months are always slow. Moving was a more drawn out process than I expected since I took occupancy of my studio just after Christmas, moved into it in January but didn’t find a place to live in Manchester until several weeks later in February. I like to be settled and to have a routine (to a certain extent). It’s good for my creativity.

In the last 6 months I was in Lincoln, due to my cramped living conditions, I failed to design anything substantial and my situation was damaging my ability to work. Since I have been in Manchester with a glorious studio space all of my own I have continued with my 2014 drape collection and started three more capsule collections. My brain often darts in several directions at once, inspired by the fabric stock I have to hand, so I have no trouble producing several small collections at once. This fuels future shoot collaborations and increases my sale stock. I started up my online shop in February. It’s not having much impact at the moment but I didn’t expect much as it’s full of my old work from the last six years and doesn’t reflect the work I am doing now. Unfortunately I am also not much of a sales person. So this is something for me to work on. But new pieces will be going up for sale as soon as they’ve had the right photoshoots that capture them and allow me to let them go. Some of the best key pieces have already been sold. But watch this space, I am producing some lovely wearable pieces as well as some concept garments.

Even though I don’t hold too much stock by published work (due to its online nature which is much like posting up anywhere else online) a good quality publication is always a feather in a designers cap. A certain standard has to be reached for good editorial and the difference always shows. I received some unexpected news in March of a publication which featured one of my dresses from my 2014 collection. I’ve included it below in my shoot set and hopefully I will be collaborating with this photographer in the future for more publication work. You can’t fail to be impressed by work of this standard. If you are a designer you need your creations shown off to their best, and I think this has been achieved here.

And so on to our shoots up to the end of March:

20150126-Renaissance-31 Composite-Edit

Photographer: James Hall at JustAddPictures.com
Model: Stephanie at Ugly Models
Digital Assistant: Rebecca Dennis
Stylist: Falcieri Designs
Make Up: Fiona Blunt at fionamakeup.co.uk
Hair: Hannah Belfield at John Belfield International

Photography: J. Tuliniemi (www.facebook.com/jtuliniemi) MUA: Marta Red Model: Kerry-Ann @ Model Union

Photography: J. Tuliniemi (www.facebook.com/jtuliniemi)
MUA: Marta Red
Designer: Falcieri Designs
Model: Kerry-Ann @ Model Union

Model: Mischkah Scott Photographer: John Gannon Photography Hairstylist: HairbyHarriet MUA: Sarah Waterfield MUA

Model: Mischkah Scott
Photographer: John Gannon Photography
Designer: Falcieri Designs
Hairstylist: HairbyHarriet
MUA: Sarah Waterfield MUA

Model: Sabine Roll @ Rage Models Photography: James Hall Photography @ JustAddPictures.com Digital Assistant and Retouching: Rebecca Dennis Clothing Design and Styling: Falcieri Designs Hair and Make Up: Adele Coxon @ adelecoxon.co.uk

Model: Sabine Roll @ Rage Models
Photography: James Hall Photography @ JustAddPictures.com
Digital Assistant and Retouching: Rebecca Dennis
Clothing Design and Styling: Falcieri Designs
Hair and Make Up: Adele Coxon @ adelecoxon.co.uk

Photography and Editing: Sian Ashleigh Lighting: Jay Holzer Model: Kerry-Anne MUA and Hair: Mel Bi Clothing Design/Styling: Falcieri Designs

Photography and Editing: Sian Ashleigh
Lighting: Jay Holzer
Model: Kerry-Anne
MUA and Hair: Mel Bi
Clothing Design/Styling: Falcieri Designs

Photography: Richard Maxim Model: Faith Obae Hair and MUA: Amy Prifti Studio: LovePhoto Studio

Photography: Richard Maxim
Model: Faith Obae
Millinery and Neck Piece: Falcieri Designs
Hair and MUA: Amy Prifti
Studio: LovePhoto Studio

Photography: Graham Binns MUA\Hair: Lynn Docherty Designer\Stylist: Falcieri Designs Model: Cerys @Nemesis Agency Studio: Redbank22, Manchester

Photography: Graham Binns
MUA\Hair: Lynn Docherty
Designer\Stylist: Falcieri Designs
Model: Cerys @Nemesis Agency
Studio: Redbank22, Manchester

Photographer: (www.facebook.com/garyclutterbuckphotography) Model: Ulorin Vex (www.facebook.com/ulorinvex) Hair: Aaron Best (www.facebook.com/ABHairdressingSwad) Makeup: Louise Shepherd (www.facebook.com/MakeOverMagicbylouiseshepherd) Stylist: Claudia Oliver - Falcieri Designs (www.facebook.com/falcieridesigns) Suit: Nakal Clothing (www.nakalclothing.com) Crocodile: Dorothy, cared for by Rob Louth and Johny Linten - Reptile Life (www.reptilelife.co.uk) Retoucher: Irina Istratova - Big Bad Red (www.bigbadred.com)

Photographer: (www.facebook.com/garyclutterbuckphotography)
Model: Ulorin Vex (www.facebook.com/ulorinvex)
Hair: Aaron Best (www.facebook.com/ABHairdressingSwad)
Makeup: Louise Shepherd (www.facebook.com/MakeOverMagicbylouiseshepherd)
Stylist: Claudia Oliver – Falcieri Designs (www.facebook.com/falcieridesigns)
Suit: Nakal Clothing (www.nakalclothing.com)
Crocodile: Dorothy, cared for by Rob Louth and Johny Linten – Reptile Life (www.reptilelife.co.uk)
Retoucher: Irina Istratova – Big Bad Red (www.bigbadred.com)

Leave a Reply

