Saying Goodbye

I don’t make anything in multiples. At the moment I just don’t have the capacity (that’s a task for 2015!).

Currently, if you want something I have made you can buy it, or I can copy it for you to your specifications if the one I have isn’t quite right. But I don’t ream off dozens of the same piece to sell. Like I said, that’s for 2015.

And so saying goodbye to a unique garment means quite literally saying goodbye to the only one I will ever know. There are a few, particularly garments that have taken considerable time to make, or have been ferried to a number of photoshoots that I am particularly sad to say goodbye to.

Back in the day when I made a lot of historical costume, every piece was a work of art, but once I’d decided to turn my hand to fashion, it was all sold off as one big consignment to a reenactor in Australia. That was a difficult day, although I was quickly glad to see the rail space, and the numbers in my bank account. And that, frankly, is what it’s all about.

Nowadays I try to keep stock under control but it’s difficult when you are a stylist as well as a designer and you’re never quite sure when an obscure piece might be just what someone wants.

As a homage to the pieces I have sweated blood and tears (some quite literally) over, here are just a few of the ones that got away, but have found happier, less solitary lives with new owners who will wear them.

Model: Joceline Brooke-Hamilton Photography: Hywel Phillips

Model: Joceline Brooke-Hamilton
Photography: Hywel Phillips

Model: Evie Wolfe Photography: My Boudoir

Model: Evie Wolfe
Photography: My Boudoir

Model: Kerry-Ann Photography: Kyle Insley

Model: Kerry-Ann
Photography: Kyle Insley

Leave a Reply

