The Cost Of Having A Creative Mind

If someone had told me that by following my creative dream I would be spending the rest of my life worrying about money I wouldn’t have bothered trying to make it a full time occupation. It’s why I also got very good at being a PA as well. But even that is undervalued these days and decent office jobs resembling anything close to ‘not having the piss taken out of you’ in the wages department, are few and far between. I wish my fall back skill had been something more interesting and more diverse.

Hindsight is a beautiful thing.

If I could give one piece of advice to anyone choosing GCSE, A Level or degree options it would be ‘don’t be a creative as your main source of income’. The longer I am in this industry, the more I wonder what on earth we’re all doing.

It’s a horribly over saturated industry, partially populated with talentless wannabes oblivious of their lack of ability. For those of us that are genuinely skilled, the dregs of work aren’t enough to support us financially. And I resent that my skills seem to be worth so little despite vocational skills being an integral part of our daily lives.

Large profit savvy companies have taken advantage of the TF market in a big way. Brand name association is enough payment apparently. Try telling that to my landlord.

We all hope that one day we’ll be living the dream. Many of us working at it full time dream of the day it pays a living wage, wondering if it will ever happen.

And even though I really love what I do, there’s a part of me that’s just a tiny bit fed up of having to bounce back to recruitment agencies every time I am reduced to expenses only projects in order to keep busy and keep working.

I’ve said that 2014 is going to be my make or break year, the one that decides if this is going to be my job or a part time gap filler. I am trying my hardest to justify all the time and effort I’ve put in so far because I would hate to think I’ve been following the wrong road all this time. The next 8 months will be the deciding factor.

2 responses to “The Cost Of Having A Creative Mind

  1. Hello. I can totally relate with your thoughts on this article. I am at that point in my life now when I am quitting part time work/part time creative for full time work because the demands of life far outweighs the promise or premise of creative joys and ever cryptic rewards.

    The cost of photography (in my case), the cost of doing business, the hassle of dealing with people with no budget (yet with big dreams and desiring your skills), the reality of adult life, the multiplicity of your craft, the difficulty of carving out a niche or style that stands out (only to find that someone else is doing it already too or has started doing it) and finally, the battles of self doubt and rejection from client job pitches….

    all weighs down heavy on my heart and I can imagine most creatives hang in there hoping that the next month will be better. Now that I have a mortgage, everything has changed. I am better off getting a full time job and doing my business on the weekends or evenings if I have the time or inspired to work or the end result is a bigger ladder for greater things or better still if the MONEY is worth the time and effort.

    Fingers Crossed.

    • I totally understand your position. You are better off enjoying your creativity as a part time hobby than as a full time career not making enough money. I can see myself doing the same thing. At the moment the income I make full time from my business is keeping me out of my own home. It’s something I will have to think hard about come the summer if things aren’t changing. But cat least you will always have your creative skills. And if you have a full time job, your creativity will find a way. Good luck and keep me posted on how you get on.

Leave a Reply

