Three Months On – How Am I Doing?

Back at the beginning of January I posted up my Mission Statement for 2014. I was at a crossroads and I had to make decisions about how I was going to run my business going forward. I’m glad I took a chance, instigated by inadvertently losing my part time office job just after the new year began. It was time to take a step off the edge of the cliff and see if I bounced. Perhaps a little surprisingly, I did.

And although it comes with risks (as these decisions often do) things are slowly starting to pay off. What counts now is perseverance and always striving to be the best that I can be.

Part of my mission statement was to allow myself the luxury of working on photoshoots ‘TF’. I was reluctant, but given the option of doing it for ‘nothing’ or not doing it at all,  I think I made the right choice in those early days of the new year. Ten shoots, ten weeks and 1557 miles later and the quality of my portfolio has improved vastly not least because it inspired me to design which has improved the quality of my design work which in turn has caught the eye of far more professional teams.

Already by the beginning of March I had decided to move into editorial. I didn’t need portfolio images any more. I needed publishing, I needed paying. And so I am now almost exclusively working for editorial and pay. I am working more regularly with reliable and consistently high quality photographers who only work for print and use agency represented models and a whole host of other high end creatives. And it makes a huge difference.

I often have to travel further, but I think that’s a price worth paying in the short term. It’s my business name, my styling and often my own designs which feature in these shoots. That’s advertising you can’t knock.

At the same time, securing regular freelance work with a local bridal boutique has been a blessing. I have structure and get paid by the hour. It’s something I really need right now because working for yourself is incredible hard financially, emotionally and personally. This additional work inspires me to do all the other things I’m enjoying at the moment and keeps me motivated.

As a roundup, here’s a taster of some of the shoots I’ve been a part of since 24th January when I did my first shoot in four months and got myself back into gear. I’m very much looking forward to what the coming months are going to bring!

Withamside-1-11

Copyright: Dan Ilenkiw Photography

Copyright: Elspeth van der Hole Photography

Copyright: Elspeth van der Hole Photography

1010628_686536748063797_600951429_n

Copyright: CJR Photography

Copyright: Follyhouse Photography

Copyright: Follyhouse Photography

Copyright: Chris Beasley Photography

Copyright: Chris Beasley Photography

Copyright: Rob Gardner Photography

Copyright: Rob Gardner Photography

Copyright: Stevieroy Photography

Copyright: Stevieroy Photography

Copyright: Kyle Insley Photography

Copyright: Kyle Insley Photography

Copyright: Rob Gardner Photography

Copyright: Rob Gardner Photography

Copyright: David Willis Photography

Copyright: David Willis Photography

Leave a Reply

