What I Loved About Fashion Week

To the layman, watching the runways at any fashion week must seem like a myriad of unwearable and impractical art wear punctuated by the occasional ‘practical’ garment.

To industry professionals it isn’t always very different. I’ve been more inspired this year than by 2013’s shows but it’s still a long way off being an oasis of wearable inspiration. Some looks just seem so pretentious. I suppose it just depends on what your take on fashion is.

I see no surprises this year but I did spot garments that got me thinking. So here’s my quickfire roundup of some of the stuff I’ll be experimenting with in the studio this year.

I am rarely inspired by Victoria Beckham though I can appreciate where she is coming from. This however is such a fun little dress. The pleating and the colours are spot on. 1920s style flapper dresses reappeared several times which is always good to see.

ea1c6c6aed0fc5eecc7dfce56c3cf1df

There was oodles of freestyle drape design going on this year. This from Jason Wu demonstrates how effective a simple drape can be.

121c32c3effadd707e205c1a5604912b

Wide leg trousers were back on the scene this year. This combo from Jonathan Simkhai is particularly inspiring but there were plenty of variations for the A/W 2014 season.

9aa73bc0a5149a3f4dcb0d2c551eb4bc

This skirt shape occurred a number of times and J.Mendel used it effectively in his RTW Fall 2014 collection. I’ve found it strangely intriguing because it’s not normally my ‘thing’. So much so that I’m designing a few pieces based on the same cut. It works well in both hard and soft fabrics.

908902da674f65a0147733844453ad64

There was lots of this sort of design work in use this year. Dion Lee’s dress is just one example but there were some lovely variations which deserve a place in anyone’s wardrobe.

b2a1098b44565c331dff3a21ae4e001a

To see the rest of my choices take a look at my Pinterest board.

Leave a Reply

