Happy Anniversary Creative Process

WordPress recently reminded me that it’s been a year since I transferred my alligence from Blogspot.

In that year my posts have been read in 36 countries which is crazy if you stop and think about it. Thank goodness for the internet!

These last 12 months haven’t been my best from either a creative or a financial point of view. But at the beginning of this year my situation changed and I knew it was one of those fate situations telling me to take a risk and put my business in order. And so I did. That was just over a month ago.

Since then my design work and my creativity have come on in leaps and bounds. Unsupressed by monotonous day jobs and free to do what I want when I need to design has been fun again and I’ve now mastered the working from home routine.

I’m averaging one photoshoot per week and my paid commission work means I no longer have to rely on temping to pay my bills. This is largely thanks to my new aim to take a more hands on approach to all the social media platforms available to me.  And some speculative approaches to various businesses in the area has secured me regular work with a fabulous bridal boutique in town which takes the sting out of paying the bills each month.

There’s nothing like knowing your work is giving you an income for coaxing your enthusiasm. Many of us know how hard it is to make ends meet in the creative industries so when you do finally find something it’s inspiring and empowering. And I couldn’t be more relieved.

Leave a Reply

