Playing Catch Up

Since I lost my part time admin job nearly two weeks ago I’ve gone design crazy. It’s been five months since I’ve had full days to myself and the first time in over a year since I’ve been able to work from home to my own schedule. I’ve been bursting with ideas. If you follow me on Pinterest you’ll know what I mean. If you’re not – get on over here!

I’ve been ploughing through the last batch of fabrics I bought in late November and indulging my loves of drape and construction by putting together a number of mini collections for my first batch of photoshoots for 2014, many of which are already in discussion or booked.

Pattern cutting experiments

Pattern cutting experiments

As I’ve mentioned before my aim this year is to keep the images flowing and push myself into a new realm of quality that I should have hit in 2013 but didn’t because of work comittments and a lack of results from the photoshoots I did work on.

I have a lot of catching up to do and I’ve been working with that in mind even though there isn’t really any pressure on at the moment. Always in the back of my mind is the reality that I may have to get another part time job at some point and so I am filling my calendar as fast as I can in case my availability becomes thin on the ground again.

Hopefully the commissions will start rolling in again once January’s paychecks have reached their respective bank accounts and it’ll stave off the job hunt. In the meantime, I’m in my element and keen to start on private commissions and shoot the work I’ve completed to date.

15623aeaf65fadf6f7deb80c7fd32e15

Leave a Reply

