Work money balance – four weeks and counting

At the moment the work money balance is more important than the work life balance. This is because I finally finish the three years of my degree in little over a month and I’m going to have to make some radical changes to the way I work. Not because I especially want to, but because if I am going to be able to keep a roof over my head, I am going to HAVE to.

Mostly this means my TF work is going to have to be cut right down and I am going to have to choose very carefully how I give up my ‘free’ time. So take heed, this may well affect you.

For clothing commissions TF has never been a problem because I never make clothing for TF. If it is being made specifically for an event or shoot I will have already pre-sold the piece or be selling it on afterwards. I will also make pre-unsold commissions for publicity, events or high end shoots (such as the Alter Me Up runway show) but then I will sell them or their copies afterwards if they are prototypes and of course good publicity is a worthy time sacrifice if it brings in new clients.

Post degree my bespoke work will continue as before but with a higher rate of £20 ph plus materials. Thankfully I am already fully booked for the first few months of the summer. This is an encouraging start.

My styling service for photoshoots is chargeable at a rate of £20 ph as it has been for some time, but will be across the board. I will VERY OCCASIONALLY do TF but it will incur travel costs at the very least because being out of pocket will no longer be a viable option.

The crux of the matter is that every hour I am not earning an hourly rate I am not making the minimum £625 I have to find every month to pay bills and keep a roof over my head. This is because this business is full time and I do not have a second or main job.

I know that TF is invariably how a lot of portfolios are made but I’ve spent the last two years building up my reputation predominantly on a TF basis and it’s going to have to end. I realise this means the number of shoots I do is going to go down but when you consider that ever hour I work for nothing costs me £20 plus expenses that can add up quite fast.

So please bear this in mind when you make inquiries with me.

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

