With Friends Like These….

This blog is about the business part of my life. It is here for professional reasons so that I can show interested parties what it is that I do. And generally I try to keep it that way. But occasionally I feel I need to defend both my professional and personal reputation in one hit. I hope that this message only applies to a select few – perhaps only one person – and not a great number.

It has come to my attention that there are people out there who misunderstand my intentions and aims. So I would just like to clarify a few things.

Those of you who don’t know my background won’t know that when I came to Lincoln to study at the University I made a lot of sacrifices – mentally, physically, financially and emotionally. I have come to my final career late in life, knowing that in order to succeed now and run a successful business I have to be up there with the best of them now – not in 5 or 10 years time. This is because I don’t have the luxury of being a 20 something with all the time in the world. I have to earning a living like the rest of this. And this is not a hobby.

My degree course is a full time job for me, and one I love. We have 30 hours of timetabled and self directed study sessions and additionally I am trying to improve the quality of my personal work and establish my business so that when I leave University next May I can start earning a full time income that will enable me to keep a roof over my head and me in business.

My student loan is only £3500 a year, topped up by my design and styling work outside of Uni and odd jobs when I can get them. As my basic yearly living expenses are twice my loan income I spend most of my time trying to make up a considerable short fall. These living expenses do not run to clothing, entertainment, holidays or personal social time. I do not get these. So when I am not propping up the bar several  times a week or supping coffee in my favourite local coffee house, it is not because I don’t want a social life or I think that you are not worth my attention, it is because I cannot afford to be there. I am not the sort of person who sits in an establishment without buying anything and I won’t scrounge my bar tab from someone else. I work 7 days a week to keep my head above water.

So to those of you who think me a professional snob who only talks to photographers and models or those others that I think will be useful to me, think again. I am trying to make up for nearly 20 years of wasted career aspiration in just three years.

And if you still have a problem with this, I would rather you said it to my face because there is nothing worse than a false friend.

That is all.

One response to “With Friends Like These….

Leave a Reply

