I don’t want to be a hermit

In the old days when I had a full time job in an office 5 days a week and working for myself doing what I wanted was but a lazy Sunday afternoon pipe dream, I couldn’t want to just sit there and sew.

These days it’s my only source of income. So sew is what I do. And whilst I shall never tire of it, I am heartily sick of being a ‘from home’ worker. I never thought I’d say this but truly it sucks. I am bored and lonely 9 – 5, 5 days a week, not because I have nothing to do (believe me I am very booked up) but because it’s just me, my current creation and Radio 4. Oh and Facebook of course – procrastination is a social network!

I have resolved that I really do need premises – a studio – somewhere I can be all official and creative in during office hours. I need to commute every day to work instead of living in the office and I need to reacquaint myself with my social skills. Then I can come home, say ‘isn’t it nice to be home’ and feel like I am at home and doing at home stuff.

Going back to Uni for my final year will be a dream come true. We get our own desks in September which means I can pretend I have a studio and I can commute every day. It may sound ridiculous but seriously, this sounds like great fun. Much as I love our little house, and my allotment garden and my naughty bantams, you really can have too much of a good thing.

Motivation is hard, for although I have a lot to do there is always something more distracting to do, even if you’re not actually doing anything. Why is that? And how do I banish it for the next 7 weeks? Does anyone have any tips because I have run out of ideas. Come on, someone must have mastered the work / home life balance….

Leave a Reply

